My First 5K

Hello everyone, I’m really sorry I haven’t been posting! I’ve been busy with school work and working out. My last post was about my ambitions and one of them was to run a 5K.

Now a lot of people that know me know how much I detest running! I’m always out of breath, I always stop and take breaks and I end up quitting. It is true, I am not a runner but this is why it is one of my ambitions to become a runner. Believe it or not I actually like running now, I have learned how to control my breathing and pace myself so it’s not so much of a chore anymore.

I’ve been researching many areas near me for 5ks and unfortunately some are soon! As in April 15th soon, now I still want to complete it and push myself to do it but it will be tough and I will remind myself that it is ok not to achieve my goals of getting a good time.

-Sponsored by MSU Federal Credit Union All proceeds from the Race for the Place 5K benefit MSU Safe Place, MSU's on-campus domestic violence shelter and advocacy services provider.

MSU Safe Place Race for the Place 5K

Race for the Place, MSU Safe Place’s annual 5K Run/Walk is scheduled for Sunday, April 15, 2012 and is the kickoff race for the Playmakers Greater Lansing 2012 Race Series! The Race for the Place is the largest annual fundraiser for MSU Safe Place and allows our program to continue to provide vital services to the members of the MSU and greater Lansing communities who experience relationship violence and stalking.

This 5K course on Michigan State University’s campus begins and ends at Jenison Fieldhouse.

To register online, visit: http://www.active.com/event_detail.cfm?event_id=2013190

For printable registration forms or pledge forms, visit: http://www.msufcu.org/safeplace

Entry Fee
On or before April 4, 2012: $25.00
After April 4, and Race Day: $30.00
MSU students with valid ID or under age 18: $20.00
Group discount (up to 4 individuals) must register together in person or by mail: $60.00

 

Spartan Splatter 5K (East Lansing, MI) Engineers Without Borders MSU

Spartan Splatter 5K (East Lansing, MI)

Sunday, April 15 2012, 02:00pm Hits : 336
race distance: 3.1-mile run/walk

starting time: 2 p.m.

race location: MSU Campus, East Lansing, MI

race fee: $20 by 3/27, $25 on race day

Enjoy color? We do, too. Join us Sunday, April 15 at 2 pm, in front of The Rock at MSU for some color fun. After each kilometer, runners will be sprayed with a (safe, nontoxic, edible) color paint! If that’s not enough for you, at the finish line, tie-dye stations will be available for dying your event t-shirt (included in registration)! All proceeds will benefit MSU’s Engineers Without Borders.

Pre-registration available until March 27. Registration will continue until the race begins at an increased price of $25/person.

 

These two races are on the same day and I think it would be fantastic to be a part of one of these! So be on the lookout for which ever race I choose to participate in 😉 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

